I’d Rather Be Dead ~ My novel, “The Defeatist” is FREE 17.8.15 – 18.8.15

Sophie Bowns

Jude Reed :

People would have described me as a quiet boy, perhaps too shy for some

I grew up with a traditional Dad, and a loving, wonderful Mum

Dad thought that I was weak, and in time I proved him right

I’d got to the stage where life caught up to me; I’d lie awake in fright

I thought that the grass was greener on the other side

Assuming I’d found a loyal partner, I thought in him, I could confide

I imagined that this was a safe haven, somewhere I could finally belong

How could I have been so naïve? Because, as always, I was wrong

Joe and I had our problems, he was brash and I was weak:

Reacting to his sarcastic remarks, when I should have turned the other cheek

Our relationship was crumbling, and my terrible news was the final straw

He shouldn’t have found…

View original post 139 more words

Leave a Reply

