100 word story: Waiting at the world’s end

Jane Dougherty Writes

Painting by Harald Slott-Moller

799px-Harald_Slott-Møller_-_Spring_-_Google_Art_Project

To the place where stars fall, the moon sinks, and the sun dies, I will follow you, I said. I will walk in your footsteps, matching your stride, through wilderness, and across the stormy sea.

Until the end of time, while ever birds sing, and rivers run, and spring follows winter, you said your love for me would never die.

So I sit at the world’s end, at the end of time, amid birdsong and the river’s rushing voice, twisting flowers and memories in my hair, and promises in my fingers, watching the empty road in case you still remember.

View original post

Leave a Reply

