#WritingTip: Expand Your Horizons #ASMSG #IAN1 #amwriting

POTL: All Things Books, Reading and Publishing

expand your horizons

As writers, it’s easy for us to get in a rut. We write in the same genre and produce great books. But like all creative artists, we tend to get restless and need new stimuli.

Two months ago, this happened to me. An opportunity arose and I was asked to produce a contemporary romance novella. I didn’t have any. In fact, I had never written contemporary romance before.

I had two choices. I could tell the opportunity no thanks or I could expand my horizons and write in a new genre. I thought long and hard and even consulted MR N. I decided to go for it.

Fear trickled down my spine as I wrote.

What if I wasn’t any good?

What if I couldn’t nail the romance and falling in love with my characters?

What if readers hated it?

Every doubt imaginable played out in my head. I pushed…

View original post 93 more words

Leave a Reply

