Playday Editing or the wardrobe malfunction

barsetshirediaries

The need for editing was driven home to me today by one letter. I had just written, I carried on my way to get dressed……… or so I thought. On re-reading it I’d written, I carried on my way to get dresses. That changed the sense of the story altogether and probably gave the reader the wrong sense of me and my wardrobe at the same time. The problem was that autocorrect doesn’t flag dresses up as it’s a real word and so the error is easy to miss.

Fellow writers. Find yourself a good editor before your reputation goes downhill as quickly as mine could have.

Playday today was brought to you by the letter S.

View original post

Leave a Reply

