The Choosing and Feeding of Betas: A Guest Post by Amie Gibbons

Kylie Betzner

Happy Hump Day, everyone! And to help me get over the mid-week hump, Amie Gibbons has provided me a guest post about beta readers that I know you will find extremely helpful, and fun!


The Choosing and Feeding of Betas:

Beta Readers are perhaps the most important part of the editing process. I’m going to say this up front because I’ve made this mistake. Be nice to your betas! They take time out of their busy lives to read your stuff and try to fix it up. Even if it’s a bad review, be nice. If it’s horrible and they just aren’t the right person to be critiquing your work for whatever reason (and that’s a judgment call on your part) you’ve still got to say thanks for your time.

First, I’m going to define what I mean by beta (because I’m a lawyer and that’s just how we roll. A beta…

View original post 1,689 more words

Leave a Reply

